RSS

Preparation and Perspective

10 Apr

Today I am heading back out to meet up with the Run Across America Team.  It has been a little over a week since I had to leave them and I am looking forward to getting back to the journey.  I know that they are tired and I have been thinking about how I can try to re-energize them when I see them this morning.  So yesterday during my lunch time, I drove over to the University of Maryland Greenebaum Cancer Center.  Why did I do this?  I actually wasn’t planning on it, it just kind of happened.  I needed perspective and that is where I usually get a harsh dose of reality.

I have been there many times, but this time was different.  I walked over to the infusion center waiting room where I have been many times and where UCF had offered coffee to the patients awaiting treatment many times.  This time I just walked in and sat down and observed.  I scanned over the jam packed waiting room and had many feelings run through my body.  “I am sure these people would give anything to be able to go Run Across the Country with friends rather than be HERE”!  I thought of Eric Opdyke’s words a few weeks ago.  “This isn’t that hard”.  These individuals are facing something that is real and hard.  I sat there for about 15 minutes and watched patient by patient as they were called back behind the doors to receive treatment for some type of cancer.  Patients of all ages, some with friends and family, but many alone.  It saddens me that so many people have to battle this disease and it really hit me that some of the people in that room might not survive.

So, why did I feel the need to do this?  This is why we are running!  Well, as the team has thinned a bit and the end of the run is approaching, I know they are very tired and I am hoping that I can lend some perspective and energy.  We all face adversity in our lives at some point and what I have learned through the years is that you have a choice on how you can face that adversity.  I prefer a “Half Full” attitude.  Having hope and optimism in the face of adversity.  It is appropriate that this comes to mind for me as Half Full was the link that connected UCF and Rev3. 

It is that mentality that I will bring and share with the Run Across America Team today.  That attitude will get us to Monday the 16th when we run to the Georgetown Hospital Lombardi Cancer Center.  It is that attitude I will share with the team as I remind them of all of the people who are being injected with their chemotherapy doses as we run.  We will be strong for those people and I will run farther than I have ever run before and it will feel good!

Brian

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 10, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
