RSS

Why I FIGHT…or in this case RUN!

20 Mar

So for my first post on my new blog I thought I would share what I have been meaning to share with the Run Across America Team.  A few months ago, the team was asked to share some thoughts and answer some questions….So here goes!

My Peeps!

Name/Nickname: Brian, Sats, B, Hey You…..

Where do you live: Clarksville, MD

Tell us about your kids/significant other/pets: I have been married to my wife Liz for 13 years and we have 2 daughters that keep me in line (Danielle-11, Lauren – 7)

How did you get involved with the Run Across America? Well…This guy named Charlie told me that the Rev3 family wanted to do something epic to raise awareness and fund for UCF.  Of course there was a catch, he wanted me to participate.  I gladly accepted and haven’t looked back.  I am honored to be side by side with such great people.

What leg of the run are you doing? After driving an RV from VA to CA, yeah!, I will be running from Oceanside to Phoenix, then I will be back for the last week to 10 days.

Why the heck are you doing it? Well, I have “worked” at the Ulman Cancer Fund for the last 4 years.  My inspiration to make a career change from the corporate world is my sister Holly.  She is a two time cancer survivor and an amazing woman, sister, wife, daughter and mother of 3.  Holly was diagnosed for the second time after giving birth to her third child, Joey.  Her battle woke me up and inspired me to make some changes in my life and with my wife’s support, I ventured on a journey away from a job that kept me traveling 5-6 days a week and away from my family.  I landed at UCF and have been working to develop programmatic platforms using sport to engage people in the FIGHT against cancer.  This journey has been amazing and I am so grateful for all of the amazing stories I get to be learn from and all of the amazing people I get to meet.  Cancer Changes Lives, but with all of the great people that continue to come together to FIGHT, So WILL WE!

What are you most excited for on the run? Simple, I get to make some new friends!

What are you most nervous about? Being type “A”, I know the UCF Staff will not argue, I am nervous about not knowing all of the details about running, eating, sleeping, driving and all of the logistics.  I have to be ok with the fact that we will just make it happen!

Favorite training song: Usually listen to one of my daughters mixes, Katy Perry, Lady GaGa, Chris Brown, Nicki Minaj, B.O.B., Rihanna..  How about that????

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 20, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
